Web3 clipping(?) for accessed/shared objects in Anytype (Discussion needed)

WHAT DO YOU RECOMMEND

As multiplayer approaches and whenever publish happens, I imagine we will be capturing information from Anytype, rather than simply from the browsers.

How should we clip such information?

  • A web-clipper within Anytype browser?
  • Version retrieval?
  • Saved version?
  • Like export?

What if editor permanently remove an object from the network or internet?

  • Do we respect editor that all contents are no longer available online? Or just the later editions?
  • Do we respect viewer had been granted until certain versions?

How much do we capture?

  • The whole space or single object?
  • Space information?
  • Relation content?
  • (for admin/editor) users’ access?
  • ‘Discussion’ (Anytype’s feature)?

HOW COULD IT BE DONE

A save button (?)

  • Only when users are not owner of objects/spaces (?)

REAL WORLD USE CASES

For reference of any single version of objects/contents.

  • Academic integrity: Only referencing the contents which I accessed, not earlier or later versions
  • When users are no longer granted access to spaces/objects
  • If users don’t plan to re-visit certain contents

ADDITIONAL CONTEXT

  • web3 could change how we use the internet a lot.
  • A question: do viewers get to view version history of objects as well? I imagine not?

I imagine a quote box of sorts where the contents are copied and clicking it directs you to the source material. It could be like sets where you have the option to view object fully or place it inline as a quote or reference. An accessed date relation will also be generated and automatically displayed like a caption.

Using transclusion on objects that aren’t yours is actually what came to mind. But then it brings conflicts if the newer version is very different from the intended clip or if, like you said, access is lost. A copied object (partial or full) with credit and link to the original seems like the safest.

This reminds me of reblogging in tumblr. I hated it when a deleted post is immortalized, but at least the source account remains. Realistically speaking, this happens a lot when capturing content from the internet, so a private and respectable way to do it should be in place. Maybe the creator can have a toggle, viewers can only share clipped content on public spaces if it is turned on.