Please publish more introductiory articles

Hi Anytype Team,

I am quite new to Anytype, and after playing around a bit, I must say I am quite lost.

Getting up to speed with the “everything is an object” concept is a bit challenging. I am saying this as a user of Fibery.io and Obisidan.md where I was able to grasp the concepts and get productive in no time.

With Anytype, I am struggling. Whatever I try, the results are different from what I expect. (Attached is a screenshot of my Recent view with lots of unwanted draft objects and type object and whatnot that I created via single click without ever having wanted to create them.)

But I guess it would only take a few detailed introductory articles, how-tos, and example workspaces to play with, to make it easy to newcomers to wrap their brains around the concept.

A few questions that these articles could answer:

• How to set up a basic workspace with articles, tasks, and a contact list (as an example workspace)?
  • How to set up navigation so that I can find my data outside the Recent view?
  • Why does every single click instantly create an object (a draft, a type,…)? (See screenshot)
  • How to create a set for a given type? (No, creating a Set object directly does not work.)
  • Are relations like foreign fields of a database table? (Answer: no, because the relation concept includes both the connection between objects and simple lookup functionality)
  • What happens when changing an object’s type? (Example: I change a Daily Reflection into a Movie, which is nonsense but works, but nothing changes visibly - the content is still the structure of a Daily Reflection.)
  • And so on.

I guess clarifying basic concepts in detail and addressing concerns like the above would help getting people up to speed and reduce the number of questions in the forum and the Telegram channels.

What do you think?

Image: tons of drafts, unintended objects, and wrongly created objects in the Recent view.

12 Likes