More robust system for Relations

Is your feature request related to a problem? Please describe.

Relations are already quite powerful. This is a suggestion for improvement.

(I’m quite new to AT, so let me know if this is already possible somehow.)

Describe the solution you’d like

When creating a new Relation, user would be able to either pick one of the pre-existing ones (as it is now - Text, Number, Status etc…), or create a new one from scratch (really).

Creating from scratch would allow choosing several properties, such as

• Name (a string with the name for this Relation)
  • Type (if it’s a text, number, checkbox, email etc.)
  • Array (a boolean- true if this Relation allows just one item, or more than one)
  • Validation (if it should run some sort of validation, and which is it)
  • …?

This would allow a wider variety of Relations, such as an array of strings, a checkbox with multiple states or multiple emails, as requested [here](Multiple Email Relations).

PS: I’m using the term Relations above, but [I wonder if they should be called “Attributes” instead?](Change the name "Relations" to "Attributes")

7 Likes

@qualquertipo In general these are good ideas and good things to be thinking about.

Some of what you’re talking about is already possible. You can create new Relations, give them a name, and a “type” (i.e. data type), such as Text, Email, Single or Multi-select. “Array” would simply be another “type” of Relation, however creation of such a totally new “type of relation” seems likely to be outside the scope of what can be reasonably done within the GUI. I suspect that will be something done more as plugins, and/or code contributions in the future.