Lost when using anytype for the first time

Hi! I’m Jonathan. I’m an animator so use of anytype is, hopefully, for reference and info management as well as knowledge base for personal reading etc. I have used a ton of different services, most recently mem.ai, but tend to go back to onenote. I am excited about learning to use anytype but I must admit I am pretty lost.

A use case example of how lost I am in this program. I want to make a task with a due date. So I type “[]” and it makes a task and I type “/date” and the only options I have are dynamically created creation date, etc. There seems to be no way to make a due date (at least on desktop), or associate any sort of future date to a text block. So I try to make a task tracker, because maybe I need to do that in page like that. So I follow the instructions on the tutorial but it doesn’t pull in my pre-existing task. Does that mean that I can only make tasks in this specific page? I can’t have a page that pulls in all tasks in Any type? So then I decide I will try to build out some information pages about some ideas I am researching. But as soon as I start I try to add a hashtag, but there is no such functionality. So I try just making individual objects for each topic I would have used a hashtag for, but, I cannot add a link to a page inline. It can only exist in it’s own block. At this point I stop and write what you are reading but I honestly am unsure how I am supposed to use this app and am certain that I am completely clueless as to its intended use.

A numbered list:

1. How do I simply add a date to a line? For instance, I want to make a task, so I type"[]" and want to put a due date, how do I do that? How do I search my notes by date? how do I make a list lf notes from a certain year, month, day?
  2. what “[]”? I can’t seem to search for it, I can’t seem to figure out how to make a set with all "[]"s. I am not sure what the difference is between “[]” and a “task object”