Learning Anytype: Database comparison

I’m just getting started with Anytype – coming from an outliner called Workflowy that I’ve used for about 10 years and with some understanding of databases.

I’m struggling to understand Anytype’s data model. I’m trying to compare Anytype’s glossary of terms to my understanding of a basic database. Is it fair (or useful) analog to understand the underlying structure?

Using databases as a form of reference, and using Anytype’s vocabulary, what are the Anytype terms describing the data base terms below:

Database Term = Anytype term?

Database = my entire Anytype file??
Table = ??
Record = ??
Field = ??
Relationship =
?? = “Block”

If this isn’t correct, it would help me learn Anytype if I could see a visual representation of the hierarchy of the Anytype model.

Apologies for such a basic question but understanding the data model as it compares to a database would help me learn Anytype faster.

Thanks for any help.

ScottC

1 Like

This is somewhat tricky but we can find some relations.

A table corresponds to a type. Just like tables with schemas in SQL.

And a record in a certain table would correspond to an object of that certain type.

Fields are every thing you put in the type template.

So for example. You created a type student with template containing 2 relations: Birthday and gpa.
Then created 2 objects of type student.

The type student itself is the table, while the 2 object are records in that table. Birthday and gpa are the fields in that table (also note any thing you write in the object itself is saved in it. As if all object have a field called body).

Relationships is a vague word. In Anytype you can call/refrence any object from any object. But Anytype relations can restrict this and only allow one object of a certain type(somewhat similar to foreign keys).

And I didn’t get what you meant by Blocks maybe you can elaborate it more?

Hope this helped.

1 Like

Thank you, Ahmed.