Easiest way to create a Kanban Board for a new project

Anytype newbie here, so I hope my question makes sense :slight_smile:

I am still puzzled about how to quickly create a Kanban board for a project. I know I can create a set and set, set the object type to task and layout to kanban board. But that shows me all objects of the Task type, I only want to show the new ones I make for this Kanban board for a specific project.

What is the best approach here?

Thank you!

1 Like

I personnaly achieve this with a Status relation.

Each project status can be “to do”, “In progress” “pending”, “Done”, “Archive” etc…

I created an “Active” Kanban view using the filter option for all “To Do” and “In progress”

You can basically use any relation to filter your new project, like creating a specific tag (let’s call it “new project”) and filter a view.

Thank you Elias! However I don’t fully understand, still trying to wrap my brain around everything. If you have time, would you explain how to set up a Kanban for a new project step by step? Thank you!

Not sure I fully understood what you want to achieve but I recorded you a small video, please excuse my accent :slight_smile:
Relations are the core of Anytype to filter, organize and sort your different objects.

3 Likes

Hi Elias,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to make this!!

This honestly seems quite convoluted compared having to do all these steps, compared with how I do in Notion like here:

Is there no way I can just create a new page with an inline set with tasks, without first having to go in the the tasks database and make a new task there with the new project assigned?

I also have a few questions:

1. If I make a new Set with the object type set to Project, I do not get the Status column automatically like you do. And the same when you first add a task, you get “Priority”, “Linked Project” and “Due Date”. How do you do that?