Dilemma of nesting and linking

Hi everyone!

I want to share some thoughts with you, and gather feedback.
I’ve been using Anytype for almost 4 months. And that’s a great experience.
Mostly, I’m using Anytype for academic purposes(University stuff, scientific work) and in addition to collect all the sources where I can get some insights(articles, movies, series, books, games) to build my own knowledge system.

But every time I start a new topic I create some kind of dashboard.
Unfortunately, right now this is the only option to structure my objects that satisfies me at least a little bit and even this method is not ideal, because not everything in this life needs flexibility.

Lets look at some keypoints.

All possible scenarios of linking and “nesting”:(the quotes are here and further in text for a reason).

1. You can “create a new object inside of another object”
  2. You can create a new “child object” and link it to your “parent object” manually.
  3. You can link existing object to your “parent object”.

Consequences:

1. That should work like “nesting”, right? But, it doesn’t work this way. What happens is, it created an independent object and momentarily links it to the page you consider as “parent object”. Forget about nesting. There’s no hierarchy. It’s just a link to another object.
    You delete your child object - the link becomes broken. You delete the link - the object stays. Doesn’t that seem like broken feature to you?
    2 and 3 option are just the same. And that’s the problem. All these three scenarios are equal to the result.

Therefore, I doubt very much that developers are able to make some kind of hierarchy or “classic tree sidebar” (so that the created dashboards are not a panel of links, but a panel of child objects).